Welcome to My Empty Nest

Musings from Mama Bird

Shhh…baby’s sleeping

There he is, sprawled out on the couch, covered in blankets,  beagle curled up at his feet. An extremely rare occurrence in my house these days, this 20-year-old is truly a sight for my sore eyes.

Last night, my son and his jazz quintet played a wedding at a former theater in downtown Cincinnati, about fifteen minutes from where I live in Kentucky.  He had actually told me earlier yesterday he was planning on spending the night at our house, but I didn’t hear him come home.

I woke up at about three this morning. Our beagle, Ella, was not in our bed, and rain pounded my windows while booming thunder faded in the storm’s wake. I reached for my cell phone. My son’s promised I’m home text did not greet me in the dark. Instead of caving to my parental worry and anxiety, I forced myself to remain in bed.

This is a huge feat for me. Too many times to count, I typically deal with this dread by getting up and leaving my bedroom like a death-row prisoner walking down the hall to her execution, and stare at a bright computer screen wishing my Facebook friends were up and posting status updates that occupy my time while I wait and worry.

Three hours later, Ella’s absence wakes me up again. Here we go, I think to myself. If he’s not home, how will I face 6 a.m. if I can’t reach him on his cell phone?

And there he is. And Ella, too. And there’s also this. Breakfast anyone?

What do you think?

Information

This entry was posted on March 31, 2012 by in children, family, Life, parenting, relationships.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other subscribers

Archives

Some call it “nifty”

The Big Five-OhAugust 24, 2012
The big day is here.

Books To Nest By

Blog Stats

  • 2,784 hits
burchfamilyreunion.wordpress.com/

News about all things Burch

cwareintheworld

Post-Retirement Life

MOM-ME

The BEST it will ever be.....

Loving Dale

Chronicle of a Husband/Wife as Patient/Caregiver

pandrewmiller

Talk geek to me!

St. Andrew's Episcopal Church - Ft. Thomas

Serving the people of Northern Kentucky and the Cincinnati Metro area since 1905

The Light Behind the Story

Seeking the magic and light in life's journeys

The Daily Erasure

An Erasure Poem a Day...

The MediLodge Connection

A place for the MediLodge community to connect.

Beyond Halfway

Devoted to issues of well-being in the second half of life.

My Demented Mom

More than five million Americans suffer from Dementia. My mom was one of them. A site for young adult caregivers struggling and coping with "the long goodbye." Created in 2007. Ended in 2014. Stay tuned for my new project about life after dementia, called "The Recovering Caregiver."

Across the Divide

Aging Issues and Navigating Eldercare from the inside of the Sandwich

Swapna writes...

about dementia care in India

aidingaging

A practical approach to caregiving

The Neophyte Writer

Information for Writers From All Over The Web