Welcome to My Empty Nest

Musings from Mama Bird

The Final Countdown

50. Tomorrow, I turn 50. Notice I don’t say “celebrate” 50. I actually haven’t “celebrated” many birthdays since I turned 40.

What’s in an age, I ask. We grow up hearing, “You’re only as old as you feel.” Well, today, I feel old. Old, old, old. Tomorrow, I’m sure I’ll feel older.

I’ve been reading “The Secret” by Rhonda Byrne. You know, that book that tells you whatever thoughts or vibes you toss out into the cosmic energy come back to you and then some. And believe me, I’ve been trying here. Unfortunately, life doesn’t always cooperate with your best intentions and volleys them right back in your face.

Ouch.

The baby falling into a hole in Baby Boomer
The baby falling into a hole in Baby Boomer (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’m one of the last of the legendary Baby Boomers, the ones who will break the bank of the US economy. I’m one of the kids who rode her purple Hollywood Schwinns with baseball cards attached to the spokes of the wheels with clothes pins. The girl with a talking Barbie who didn’t dress like a hootchie. The child with the polio vaccine scar on my left arm (still there), who survived Fifth’s Disease (whatever that is) and chomped on Vicks cough drops that tasted almost as good as candy necklaces and cigarettes and Boston baked beans.  I’m of the generation of kids who shared bedrooms with siblings in a home where one bathroom served an entire family’s needs. (That’s probably one reason why my generation is so good at sharing and compromising.) In my bedroom (that I shared with my sister), my only connection to technology was a green AM clock radio and a record player.  We didn’t have cable TV, and our home was cooled by window fans, which is probably why our generation enjoys old black-and-white movies and never, ever takes central air for granted. When we were young, we didn’t have curfews. Didn’t need them because mostly, we weren’t allowed to be outside after dark.

Can't We Just Sit Down (And Talk It Over)
Can’t We Just Sit Down (And Talk It Over) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

We dug Donna Summer and AC/DC. We watched “Roots,” then read the book. We had recess and gym class, and no president’s wife would ever dream of telling our moms they can’t bring baked goods to school to celebrate their children’s birthdays.

AT (almost) 50, I’ve tons of role models, sisters thriving in their fifties, women paving the way for me. Oprah. Ellen. Rosie. Love them or hate them (I happen to love them), at least you can look at them and say, “Damn, being 50’s not half bad.”

I know age, like most everything, is a mindset.  So on this, my last night of being a woman in my forties, I vow to imagine myself as a young, vibrant woman (with an AARP card). A woman who is always evolving and aspiring and dreaming, and occasionally watching those dreams come to fruition. A woman grateful for the people in her life, her children, the experiences (both the good and the bad) of being a mother, a wife, a daughter, sister, friend.

When I think of my life, my successes that were my own and my failures that showed me a better way, I see myself as a woman strong, bold enough to take on challenges past and present, loving my people, loving myself.

So tonight, before I go to bed, I will put it all out there in the universe: I am vibrant. Relevant. Strong. Loving being 50. Hopefully, tomorrow morning, I’ll believe it.

Cheers!

 
 
 

 

2 comments on “The Final Countdown

  1. Barb Markway
    August 24, 2012

    Lovely post. I turned 50 this year, too, and am a recent empty nester. I also grew up with a beagle! You visited my blog recently, http://www.theselfcompassionproject. Nice to meet you!

    • Jane
      August 27, 2012

      I think it’s safe to say we have much in common 🙂 Thanks for stopping by! Jane

What do you think?

Information

This entry was posted on August 23, 2012 by in family, Journal, Life, musings, parenting, people, relationships, women.

Top Posts & Pages

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers

Archives

Some call it “nifty”

The Big Five-OhAugust 24th, 2012
The big day is here.

Books To Nest By

Blog Stats

  • 2,518 hits
burchfamilyreunion.wordpress.com/

News about all things Burch

cwareintheworld

Post-Retirement Life

MOM-ME

The BEST it will ever be.....

Loving Dale

Chronicle of a Husband/Wife as Patient/Caregiver

pandrewmiller

Talk geek to me!

Lessons in French

Life is a journey that can often be as challenging and confusing as learning a foreign language. We all are longing for complete fluency and these are some of my lessons in conversing with life

St. Andrew's Episcopal Church - Ft. Thomas

Serving the people of Northern Kentucky and the Cincinnati Metro area since 1905

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Not Tomatoes

A writing journey to truth & light

The Daily Erasure

An Erasure Poem a Day...

The MediLodge Connection

A place for the MediLodge community to connect.

Beyond Halfway

Devoted to issues of well-being in the second half of life.

My Demented Mom

More than five million Americans suffer from Dementia. My mom was one of them. A site for young adult caregivers struggling and coping with "the long goodbye."

Across the Divide

Aging Issues and Navigating Eldercare from the inside of the Sandwich

Swapna writes...

A dementia caregiver in India shares experiences and insights about life

aidingaging

A practical approach to caregiving

myeyesopentheworld

God, Open My Eyes To The World

