Welcome to My Empty Nest

Musings from Mama Bird

For the love of Bubby

My friend’s cat, Bubby, died of a heart attack. In her arms. At the vet’s office. Her Facebook status of love and loss reached right through me when I read it a few minutes ago, and I shared her grief for the loss of her beloved cat, a feline I never met. Especially poignant was her response to another friend who offered her a replacement, to which my friend said something along the lines of, “I am far too heartbroken to deal with this kind of heartache as I fade into old age.”

After I posted my condolences, I stepped away from the computer and reflected on her words. What immediately came to mind was Lord Tennyson’s In Memoriam: 27, 1850:

I hold it true, whate’er befall;
I feel it, when I sorrow most;
‘Tis better to have loved and lost
Than never to have loved at all.

My favorite high school English teacher turned me onto this poem thirty-some years ago. Mrs. Daniels wrote these famous words on the blackboard and asked us to write an essay about whether or not we agreed with Tennyson. Being only 15 or 16 at the time, my thoughts immediately gravitated toward romantic love, something I hadn’t even experienced back then (assuming crushes on Jon, then Scott, then Jon again didn’t really count). I concluded love is grand and heartache is worth the price of a heavy heart when love dies.

This morning, thinking about this poem once again, I asked myself the same question my teacher posed way back then, and I now conclude that Tennyson’s sentiment covers a much more broad range of love, one that extends itself to all creatures, great and small.

As a child, my housemates included Pups the Collie and Red the Irish Setter. I was about 10 or 11 when my mom decided to send Pups “to live on a farm” after our beloved dog nipped me on the arm. Soon, we welcomed Red, who gave us much love until I was a senior in high school; my mom, sister and I returned home from a picnic to discover our beautiful dog dead in the backyard. I was old enough then to understand grief and feel it down to my bone. Still, we were glad for the mutts that Mom brought home in his wake.

As an adult, I have grieved the deaths of three beta fish and one house rabbit, who died in my husband’s arms. He was older than six, and a good bunny, indeed.  All are buried in the soft earth of Kentucky bluegrass.

Now, for the first time in our house, we have a dog. Our beagle, Ella, is a little over a year old and a wonderful addition to our family. In fact, she is family, babied and spoiled like a grandchild would be. If she should live to her life expectancy, I will be well into my ’60s, and my husband will be fast approaching 70 when she leaves this good earth  When we bought her last year, I realized she would probably be the only dog we would ever own (and kicked myself more than once for never owning a dog before Ella; rescues don’t count since they leave you very soon) because if genetics holds all the cards, I will be deep into the winter of my life in 14 or 15 years. That, and I don’t know if, like my friend, I would be able to invite heartbreak back into my life after a loss of the best beagle ever.

I mean, who could NOT fall in love with this face :)

So, my point. Is it better to have loved than never to have loved at all? Bad boyfriends and childhood crushes? Absolutely not. Everything and everyone else? Yes, yes, yes.

4 comments on “For the love of Bubby

  1. brendamarroy
    April 6, 2012

    It is definitely better to have loved. I just lost my 16 year old cat and it broke my heart. She was my baby, my companion, and my familiar. Someone told me I needed to go right out and get another cat.
    I’ve decided to wait until the right one comes along. I’m not going to go looking, just yet. I hate the thought of having to go through loss again, should another pet outlive me, but I hate as much the thought of not having a cat in my life.
    Thanks for sharing a good story.

    • Jane
      April 7, 2012

      I’m sorry to hear about your kitty-cat. Thank you for sharing your story and perspective šŸ™‚

  2. Bitter en Zoet
    April 10, 2012

    When I see that my dog’s eyelashes have turned white and that the little hairs behind her big tent ears are greying, I think about this sometimes. This heartache to come. You’ve expressed the feeling so well here- that balance of knowing there is sadness and yet all that joy being completely worth it.

  3. Jane
    April 10, 2012

    Thank you very much. Hopefully our dogs will be with us for many years to come šŸ™‚

What do you think?

Information

This entry was posted on April 5, 2012 by in beagle, family, Life, pets, relationships.

Top Posts & Pages

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers

Archives

Some call it “nifty”

The Big Five-OhAugust 24th, 2012
The big day is here.

Books To Nest By

Blog Stats

  • 2,484 hits
burchfamilyreunion.wordpress.com/

News about all things Burch

cwareintheworld

Post-Retirement Life

MOM-ME

The BEST it will ever be.....

Loving Dale

Chronicle of a Husband/Wife as Patient/Caregiver

pandrewmiller

Talk geek to me!

Lessons in French

Life is a journey that can often be as challenging and confusing as learning a foreign language. We all are longing for complete fluency and these are some of my lessons in conversing with life

St. Andrew's Episcopal Church - Ft. Thomas

Serving the people of Northern Kentucky and the Cincinnati Metro area since 1905

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Not Tomatoes

A Metaphysical Look at Healing & Life

The Daily Erasure

An Erasure Poem a Day...

The MediLodge Connection

A place for the MediLodge community to connect.

Beyond Halfway

Devoted to issues of well-being in the second half of life.

My Demented Mom

More than five million Americans suffer from Dementia. My mom was one of them. A site for young adult caregivers struggling and coping with "the long goodbye."

Across the Divide

Aging Issues and Navigating Eldercare from the inside of the Sandwich

Swapna writes...

A dementia caregiver in India shares experiences and insights about life

aidingaging

A practical approach to caregiving

myeyesopentheworld

God, Open My Eyes To The World

