Welcome to My Empty Nest

Musings from Mama Bird

Back to School

I am in. Finally!

In a little more than two weeks, I will begin working on my thesis, one of the final requirements for the Master’s in English degree I embarked upon four years ago.

In 2008, I was sitting here, at my desk, debating whether or not I even wanted a master’s degree, let alone do the work required of one. I would be part of the first class studying in this particular graduate program at this particular university, and when I looked through the course requirements in the catalog, I was unsure if I really wanted to learn about professional editing, online literary research, or pre-1800 British literature. I skimmed over the courses geared toward the creative writing capstone track, but as a creative-non fiction writer for so many years, I had little interest in writing fiction or poetry, genres I had dabbled in but was barely competent in constructing.  I also considered my full-time work schedule and Mom commitments and questioned if I would be availed the time I knew I would need to complete the degree requirements. More than anything, though, I wasn’t sure I was ready to go back to school or even wanted to. By the time I earned my bachelor’s degree in 1985 from The Ohio State University, I was burnt-out. Fried. Over it. Back then, the thought of ever returning to the college classroom made me want to puke.

I admit, though, the allure of adding a master’s degree to my academic achievements sucked me in, so I decided to apply to the university as a non-degree student in order to test the waters of graduate studies, and I enrolled in one class. For sixteen weeks, I spent the majority of my weekends learning how to research any topic on the web  and weed the good from the bad in terms of legitimate internet sources. By the end of the semester, I was able to hone my research skills in such a way that when I turned in the annotated bibliography of more than thirty-five literary and scholarly resources, I was confident that pursuing this degree could help me turn my pet project of several years, In My Mother’s Room, into a viable memoir and thesis project. Then I earned my first “A” and I was hooked, energized with a confidence and pride that was different from anything I had felt in a long, long time.

So I applied as a degree-seeking student and got admitted, another accomplishment. For more than two years, I studied literature, learned professional editing skills, and engaged classmates and professors with critical thinking skills I didn’t know I had. I wrote poetry and prose and creative non-fiction in workshops that thickened my egotistical writer’s skin. I read dozens of books and wrote research papers and honed pages and pages of creative and academic writing. This guinea pig class of the English program exposed me to gifted faculty and peers who were far more talented than I, but as a result of their (mostly gentle) critiques in our workshops, I became a better writer. This fact hit home when I read a bit of my memoir draft to an Introduction to Graduate Studies class, and a young woman left the room in tears, later explaining that she could relate to so much of what I’d written, she couldn’t help herself.

A year-and-a-half ago, I finished my last course requirement. I have a 4.0 (!) GPA, and I needed a break. I also needed a plan as to how I would convince the graduate program director that I could turn my memoir into a viable end-product of the MA in English: a thirty-page academic paper, a thesis, and the successful defense of my project in front of the faculty who would serve on my jury. Taking classes had been easy; it was this independent study/thesis process that held me hostage and stopped me dead in my tracks. Still, I’m only allowed two more years to complete this master’s degree, so in April, I defeated the nagging voice of doubt, met with the first prospective jury member, and began writing what would be a sixteen-page prospectus detailing how I would go about this. After one revision, he approved it. Then another faculty member approved it. And yesterday, I received an email from the program director telling me she had approved it as well.

I whooped and hollered, then logged onto my student portal to check my fall semester schedule.

Hooray!

Now I’m challenged with writing at least 30,000 brand new, never-before-workshopped words that will, I hope, find a place in my memoir. I will spend hundreds of hours, I know, writing and revising and writing some more. I will try not to take my mentors’ critiques personally, and my weekends will no longer be mine. But a year or two after the guinea pig class of 2008 graduated, this middle-aged woman and mother of the empty next will (God willing) receive her hood and diploma and say so long to graduate studies…for now.

6 comments on “Back to School

  1. OneWeekToCrazy
    August 10, 2012

    Yay for English degrees and for fantastic writing! Good luck with everything!

    Cheers,
    Courtney Hosny

    • Jane
      August 10, 2012

      Thank you! 🙂 Jane

  2. Tony Marquis
    August 18, 2012

    Go for it!

    I really hope you succeed in your goals. I guess you are younger than I. I always like to see someone doing what they want and for themselves. Higher education is not just for the youngsters.

    • Jane
      August 19, 2012

      Thank you! I’ve also worked at this same university for many years and have found us older (ie, “non-traditional”) students to be engaging and extremely motivated. Personally, I’m a much better student than I was the first time around 🙂 Jane

  3. thereisnosanityclause
    August 21, 2012

    Good for you Jane! I got my B.A. in 1981 and never went for a Masters. Proud of your accomplishment!
    Mar

    • Jane
      August 21, 2012

      Thanks! I thank God I work for this university that affords me and my family tuition benefits; when they introduced the MA in English program in 2008, I knew I was truly blessed 🙂 Jane

What do you think?

Information

This entry was posted on August 2, 2012 by in education, Life, Lifestyle, musings, Uncategorized, women, writing and tagged , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers

Archives

Some call it “nifty”

The Big Five-OhAugust 24th, 2012
The big day is here.

Books To Nest By

Blog Stats

  • 2,449 hits
burchfamilyreunion.wordpress.com/

News about all things Burch

cwareintheworld

Post-Retirement Life

MOM-ME

The BEST it will ever be.....

Loving Dale

Chronicle of a Husband/Wife as Patient/Caregiver

pandrewmiller

Talk geek to me!

Lessons in French

Life is a journey that can often be as challenging and confusing as learning a foreign language. We all are longing for complete fluency and these are some of my lessons in conversing with life

St. Andrew's Episcopal Church - Ft. Thomas

Serving the people of Northern Kentucky and the Cincinnati Metro area since 1905

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Not Tomatoes

A Metaphysical Look at Healing & Life

The Daily Erasure

An Erasure Poem a Day...

The MediLodge Connection

A place for the MediLodge community to connect.

Beyond Halfway

Devoted to issues of well-being in the second half of life.

My Demented Mom

More than five million Americans suffer from Dementia. My mom was one of them. A site for young adult caregivers struggling and coping with "the long goodbye."

Across the Divide

Aging Issues and Navigating Eldercare from the inside of the Sandwich

Swapna writes...

A dementia caregiver in India shares experiences and insights about life

aidingaging

A practical approach to caregiving

myeyesopentheworld

God, Open My Eyes To The World

