Welcome to My Empty Nest

Musings from Mama Bird

Vacation…I Wanna Go-Go-Go!

My son recently returned from an overnight camping trip, one where he didn’t have internet or phone access. He seemed refreshed, renewed…until he started texting, checking his voicemail, and answering his emails. I told him I think he needs to take at least one day off from the virtual world that seems to dominate so many of our lives. He agreed, saying he would unplug one day a week. We’ll see…

In the meantime, I have decided to take my own advice and disconnect from the internet for the rest of this weekend. (I must leave my phone on; most of the texts I receive are from my adult children, and this is, I have found, the most viable way to keep in touch and rest my worried mind.)

About a year ago, I trained myself to not check my work email on weekends and vacation days. The withdrawal I experienced had nothing to do with denying myself something I enjoy. No, like most folks, work-related anything on days away from the office are far from enjoyable. What I encountered–and what kept me checking work email for years–was the mental panic of feeling as if I was missing something important, something that either couldn’t wait for me to return to the office or, worse, something horrible I would be facing at 7:30 the morning I returned. It took about three weekends for me to feel secure and another several weeks before I actually enjoyed my virtual time away from all things work-related. Occasionally, I relapse, but I force myself to hop back on the leisure wagon right away.

For longer than I can remember, I’ve gotten in the rut of logging onto Facebook and Gmail as soon as I wake up, refreshing both accounts many times throughout the day. It eats a big chunk out of my leisure time most days and keeps me from doing things I need to do for my mental health, such as reading, or writing, or playing (albeit poorly) my electronic piano, or knitting, or simply being. There are a lot of projects I’ve started but haven’t come close to finishing, blaming my lack of free time, but I know I’m kidding myself. I have lots of free time; it is up to me to use it wisely.

My plans today, the third day of a five-day weekend, include working on my memoir, reading one of the many books I’ve purchased but walked away from, and maybe shampooing the carpet. (I find the noise from the cleaner soothing and the monotony of it quite relaxing.) Tonight, my husband and I will go to the nearby coffee house to watch my son and his jazz trio play their monthly gig. Tomorrow, I will hop on a bus to Cincinnati to watch a free concert by singers in the city who came to compete in the World Choir Games.

So here I go. After I publish this, I will place my cursor on the little red X on the upper right-hand side of my monitor and shut ‘er down until Monday. Three…two…one…Vacation!

What do you think?

Information

This entry was posted on July 6, 2012 by in culture, Life, Lifestyle, musings, Random, Uncategorized, vacation, Work and tagged , , , .

Top Posts & Pages

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers

Archives

Some call it “nifty”

The Big Five-OhAugust 24th, 2012
The big day is here.

Books To Nest By

Blog Stats

  • 2,484 hits
burchfamilyreunion.wordpress.com/

News about all things Burch

cwareintheworld

Post-Retirement Life

MOM-ME

The BEST it will ever be.....

Loving Dale

Chronicle of a Husband/Wife as Patient/Caregiver

pandrewmiller

Talk geek to me!

Lessons in French

Life is a journey that can often be as challenging and confusing as learning a foreign language. We all are longing for complete fluency and these are some of my lessons in conversing with life

St. Andrew's Episcopal Church - Ft. Thomas

Serving the people of Northern Kentucky and the Cincinnati Metro area since 1905

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Not Tomatoes

A Metaphysical Look at Healing & Life

The Daily Erasure

An Erasure Poem a Day...

The MediLodge Connection

A place for the MediLodge community to connect.

Beyond Halfway

Devoted to issues of well-being in the second half of life.

My Demented Mom

More than five million Americans suffer from Dementia. My mom was one of them. A site for young adult caregivers struggling and coping with "the long goodbye."

Across the Divide

Aging Issues and Navigating Eldercare from the inside of the Sandwich

Swapna writes...

A dementia caregiver in India shares experiences and insights about life

aidingaging

A practical approach to caregiving

myeyesopentheworld

God, Open My Eyes To The World

