Welcome to My Empty Nest

Musings from Mama Bird

It’s Gucci Time

English: The QT-Watch was designed by Neil Per...

English: The QT-Watch was designed by Neil Perlman, M.D. and Dan Mapes-Riordan, Ph.D. to help people quit smoking and stay quit. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

So it’s been a little more than a month since I turned the big Five-Oh, and I’ve been busy chasing the healthy life as if it’s my job. It’s definitely my mission at the moment, one that has been consuming much of my free time while I navigate the waters that I’ve waded in before but never seemed to have the drive to dive into, full force, until now (or at least the last four-plus weeks).

Yes, I’ve quit smoking before. Quit drinking beer. Walked with Leslie Sansone and crunched my stomach (abs? hahaha) with Jilian Michaels. I’ve lost some weight, gained some weight, went vegan (for a week), but all for naught until now.

It’s different this time. I’m fifty. Not old, but definitely approaching the tail end of middle age. I no longer have time, I think, to put this off, this quest for more healthy years before I meet my eventual demise. If not now, then when? I think if I don’t follow through this time, it will be too late before I know it.

I don’t think I’m alone in my awakening born from turning fifty. I think we all want to be young again to a certain extent. How many times have we told ourselves, “I may be [insert age here], but I feel [insert younger age here]?

Like the clock in my kitchen, the seconds of my life make it known they are ticking away. Tick…tick. Sometimes, I get discouraged, and I must tell the self that whispers, “You waited too long,” to STFU. And not to be confused with a mid-life crisis, the years of abusing my health have, it seems to me, have become a life crisis. I’m sure Dr. Oz would agree. (So would Leslie and Jillian.)

Last weekend, my son brought his girlfriend to my house for the first time. I was in the kitchen listening to some of the hip-hop songs he introduced me to a few years ago–having children keeps my musical tastes relevant–and she laughed, saying, “You’re playing Gucci Maine!” “Blame it on my son,” I said with a grin.

When you turn fifty, every day is Gucci Time. And these days, that’s all right by me.

2 comments on “It’s Gucci Time

  1. Marlene Luneng
    October 17, 2012

    I love your theme, your writing and messages. Excellent!

    • Jane
      October 25, 2012

      Thanks, Marlene! 🙂

What do you think?

Information

This entry was posted on October 6, 2012 by in culture, Life, Lifestyle, musings, reality tv, women.

Navigation

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers

Archives

Some call it “nifty”

The Big Five-OhAugust 24th, 2012
The big day is here.

Books To Nest By

Blog Stats

  • 2,449 hits
burchfamilyreunion.wordpress.com/

News about all things Burch

cwareintheworld

Post-Retirement Life

MOM-ME

The BEST it will ever be.....

Loving Dale

Chronicle of a Husband/Wife as Patient/Caregiver

pandrewmiller

Talk geek to me!

Lessons in French

Life is a journey that can often be as challenging and confusing as learning a foreign language. We all are longing for complete fluency and these are some of my lessons in conversing with life

St. Andrew's Episcopal Church - Ft. Thomas

Serving the people of Northern Kentucky and the Cincinnati Metro area since 1905

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Not Tomatoes

A Metaphysical Look at Healing & Life

The Daily Erasure

An Erasure Poem a Day...

The MediLodge Connection

A place for the MediLodge community to connect.

Beyond Halfway

Devoted to issues of well-being in the second half of life.

My Demented Mom

More than five million Americans suffer from Dementia. My mom was one of them. A site for young adult caregivers struggling and coping with "the long goodbye."

Across the Divide

Aging Issues and Navigating Eldercare from the inside of the Sandwich

Swapna writes...

A dementia caregiver in India shares experiences and insights about life

aidingaging

A practical approach to caregiving

myeyesopentheworld

God, Open My Eyes To The World

