Welcome to My Empty Nest

Musings from Mama Bird

Becoming “Vegucated”

Last weekend, I watched three documentaries that have turned my eating world upside-down: Forks Over Knives, Food Inc., and Vegucated.  Before I go any further, let me preface this by saying that I have been trying to find something to inspire me to drop some pounds, eat healthfully, and lower my cholesterol and blood pressure. (I succeeded on a similar journey more than a year ago but, for various reasons–mostly laziness–I returned to poor eating and wellness, and it shows.) I wasn’t, however, looking to be truly frightened into doing so.

What I learned:

That beef, pork and poultry we’re consuming regularly? Why, it’s literally killing us! I’m not talking because we eat it in excess. I’m talking about the hormones and grain being shoved into these animals in filthy slaughterhouses poorly regulated by our government. Heart disease, obesity, E-Coli, CANCER. Wait, what? You mean that the meat we eat can give us frigging CANCER? WowWowWow! WTF?

This was a big shocker to me. No, really. I’d recently been wondering why so many people I know have cancer, why the cancer rate has seemingly sky-rocketed, at least in my circle of friends and family. I’d always assumed it was because of the pollutants we breathe, and the plastic we use to store food and drink water from, and the pesticides we grew up with. But I was dead wrong.

(Plus, did you know that the calcium our bodies need doesn’t necessarily have to come from dairy products? That the food pyramid is altered every so often to promote those industries that financially back politicians and government officials? I didn’t.)

So this week, 95% of my diet has been plant- and whole food-based. (I fell off the wagon Wednesday with a Chipotles vegetarian burrito and last night with a half-slice of American cheese, then melted butter poured over a bowl of air-popped popcorn. Oh, and then there was that glass of Guinness I drank at the jazz club performance featuring my son’s group. So let’s make that 80%.) I’ve also been reading up on this type of diet that has saved lives and probably reversed or prevented disease in many, many people.  In fact,  I’ve been reading a lot, trying to find out where to find the vitamins and minerals and protein I need to sustain my overall good health while practicing a plant-based/whole food diet. Frankly, I feel like I need a medical degree (or at least a bachelor’s degree in nutrition) to understand much of what I have read so far, let alone incorporate it into a healthful diet. I haven’t succeeded yet. Mostly this week, I’ve been tired and hungry in a way I’ve never been, not to mention culinary challenged. Even my pocketbook has taken a bit of a hit, especially considering I’m starving more than not. (Did you know that one bell pepper costs $1.50 at Kroger’s? How can that be? It’s summer, for heaven’s sake.)

I recognize that documentaries are usually one-sided, and while the hard medical evidence and video footage of slaughterhouses and poultry farms are undeniably true, it’s clear there are probably also agendas to be figured out.

All I know is I’m now scared to eat, especially since our government is clearly not concerned about systematically killing off us meat/poultry/pork/dairy eaters.

I never intended to become a vegan or vegetarian, so I will incorporate meat, dairy, etc. into my diet, just not as often and in smaller portions. I’ve already found a farmer’s co-op in my county that sells beef from cows that live freely eating grass, and there’s a poultry farmer nearby where we’ve bought our poultry in the past. Sure, it will cost twice as much as what we pay for in our grocery store, but I’ll feel satisfied knowing these animals aren’t cooped up in overcrowded, disgusting and cruel living conditions, and I’ll feel less afraid.  (I also discovered in my internet research that I am a “flexitarian.”)

I recommend you watch these documentaries, especially Food Inc., for the skinny on what you may be consuming, or at the very least, visit their partner website, takepart.com. An informed consumer is a healthy consumer, and in the end, I know that’s what all of us want.

6 comments on “Becoming “Vegucated”

  1. franceskakugawa
    July 29, 2012

    This will help you feel better: Chipotle ( restaurant) has no freezer and micro-wave…all locally and organically grown veggies. I read this in one of this week’s news magazines. I, too, turned vegetarian after reading The China Study by T. Colin Campbell. Like you, a 90% vegetarian at home ( can’t give up cheese) but will nibble on seafood out of my kitchen. We turned our front yard into an organic garden. Swiss Chard plant will grow for over 2 years, even in frost. Wish I could run over with a zucchini bread for you. Thanks for this discussion. Enjoyed your posts on other issues.

    • Jane
      July 29, 2012

      Thanks for the Chipotle heads up and for reading and commenting. Have you found any good recipes and websites you can recommend for a former consumer of a low-vegetable/high meat diet? This has been the biggest obstacle for me in maintaining a vegetarian lifestyle. (I wish you could run over with a piece of your zucchini bread, too 🙂 ) Jane

  2. franceskakugawa
    July 30, 2012

    If you’ll email me, I’ll send you some recipes. Replace red meat with beans, as starters.
    I now take one of those green drinks, add protein powder ( all from health shop) to take care of protein when I go all vegan. I did the following a few days ago. I got some fresh root vegetables ( beets, sweet potato, carrots, parsnips and zucchini, salt and pepper, tossed with herbs and olive oil and roasted in oven. Had them with brown rice. At another time, I added those prepared Thai curry sauce on the roasted veggies.

    I often go to Whole Foods…check out their food section and read their ingredients and try them at home since I can recreate them for more than half the price. My favorite comment is, “oh, I can do that.”

    I have a great Kale salad that makes a meal in itself. I’ll send it to you via email.
    I usually have homemade soup all months of the year.

    When time permits, I google veggie recipes. There are some excellent recipes out there.
    Enjoy….if nothing else, you’ll feel healthier and know you are doing the right thing.

  3. dkzody
    March 13, 2013

    Hope you are still sticking with a better diet and feeling better. More organic produce is definitely the way to go.

    • Jane
      March 22, 2013

      Yes! Thank you 🙂

What do you think?

Information

This entry was posted on June 22, 2012 by in family, food, Lifestyle, nature, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , .

Top Posts & Pages

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers

Archives

Some call it “nifty”

The Big Five-OhAugust 24th, 2012
The big day is here.

Books To Nest By

Blog Stats

  • 2,518 hits
burchfamilyreunion.wordpress.com/

News about all things Burch

cwareintheworld

Post-Retirement Life

MOM-ME

The BEST it will ever be.....

Loving Dale

Chronicle of a Husband/Wife as Patient/Caregiver

pandrewmiller

Talk geek to me!

Lessons in French

Life is a journey that can often be as challenging and confusing as learning a foreign language. We all are longing for complete fluency and these are some of my lessons in conversing with life

St. Andrew's Episcopal Church - Ft. Thomas

Serving the people of Northern Kentucky and the Cincinnati Metro area since 1905

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Not Tomatoes

A writing journey to truth & light

The Daily Erasure

An Erasure Poem a Day...

The MediLodge Connection

A place for the MediLodge community to connect.

Beyond Halfway

Devoted to issues of well-being in the second half of life.

My Demented Mom

More than five million Americans suffer from Dementia. My mom was one of them. A site for young adult caregivers struggling and coping with "the long goodbye."

Across the Divide

Aging Issues and Navigating Eldercare from the inside of the Sandwich

Swapna writes...

A dementia caregiver in India shares experiences and insights about life

aidingaging

A practical approach to caregiving

myeyesopentheworld

God, Open My Eyes To The World

