Welcome to My Empty Nest

Musings from Mama Bird

The Glass Castle (Jeannette Walls, 2005)

I was sitting in a taxi, wondering if I had overdressed for the evening, when I looked out the window and saw Mom rooting through a Dumpster.

Jeannette Walls opens her acclaimed memoir, The Glass Castle, with this compelling paragraph. Just like the millions of readers who kept her book on the New York Times bestseller list for at least a hundred weeks, I, too, was drawn into her extremely moving story with this first sentence, one that invites readers into her family. I think the book review that best describes it in my opinion came from a critic writing for The Village Voice:

A spare and lovely memoir…The Glass Castle ‘s power stems from its childlike perspective and unsentimental prose.

I won’t go into detail here in case you haven’t read it, except to say that her “eccentric” parents were at times smart and lovable, but mostly neglectful, selfish, and borderline abusive. What I truly appreciate about Ms. Walls’ memoir is that unlike similar books of this particular genre, hers recounts truly horrible experiences she endured as a child without going into such detail that would prevent me from reading it each night this last week before I went to bed.

She also does not martyr herself, another aspect I find endearing.  A truly gifted and inspiring writer, Ms. Walls recounts various childhood events in a simple, yet elegant prose that is detailed and honest without attacking her parents or making her readers hate them.

In one online interview, she talks about her memoir and tells us she is surprised when some readers characterize her narrative voice as being angry. That surprises me as well, for I found her voice to be factual and honest, as well as affectionate and forgiving.

Ms. Walls proves to be a good teacher for someone like me, someone who is drafting her own memoir that will focus on her relationship with her mother. I have learned from The Glass Castle how not to indict or alienate readers from my mother, but rather to write with a true adult perspective that does not use the proverbial mighty pen as a weapon that could potentially destroy my mother’s (and other family members’) reputation. (Of course, to try to equate anything in my childhood with what Ms. Wells and her siblings endured would also be a lie.)

If you have not read The Glass Castle, I strongly endorse it. If you have read it, I would love to know what you think.

One comment on “The Glass Castle (Jeannette Walls, 2005)

  1. Pingback: A good book « travellearnlove

What do you think?

Information

This entry was posted on April 14, 2012 by in book review, entertainment, Life, Lifestyle, memoir, Random, Uncategorized.

Top Posts & Pages

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers

Archives

Some call it “nifty”

The Big Five-OhAugust 24th, 2012
The big day is here.

Books To Nest By

Blog Stats

  • 2,518 hits
burchfamilyreunion.wordpress.com/

News about all things Burch

cwareintheworld

Post-Retirement Life

MOM-ME

The BEST it will ever be.....

Loving Dale

Chronicle of a Husband/Wife as Patient/Caregiver

pandrewmiller

Talk geek to me!

Lessons in French

Life is a journey that can often be as challenging and confusing as learning a foreign language. We all are longing for complete fluency and these are some of my lessons in conversing with life

St. Andrew's Episcopal Church - Ft. Thomas

Serving the people of Northern Kentucky and the Cincinnati Metro area since 1905

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Not Tomatoes

A writing journey to truth & light

The Daily Erasure

An Erasure Poem a Day...

The MediLodge Connection

A place for the MediLodge community to connect.

Beyond Halfway

Devoted to issues of well-being in the second half of life.

My Demented Mom

More than five million Americans suffer from Dementia. My mom was one of them. A site for young adult caregivers struggling and coping with "the long goodbye."

Across the Divide

Aging Issues and Navigating Eldercare from the inside of the Sandwich

Swapna writes...

A dementia caregiver in India shares experiences and insights about life

aidingaging

A practical approach to caregiving

myeyesopentheworld

God, Open My Eyes To The World

