Welcome to My Empty Nest

Musings from Mama Bird

Girl Power

The neighborhood sleeps while I wait patiently, quietly, for the new dawn to break into the mid-morning. It promises to be another day full of sun and singing birds, perfect weather to get my buzz on, and I can hardly sit still in my early-morning vigil.

That new weed trimmer we bought a few weeks ago? Finally, finally, my husband taught me how to use her. How can I possibly describe gripping the rubber-coated handle and powering up that battery-charged baby for the first time, learning the nuances that will (eventually) lead to a picture-perfect yard? Her subtle strength and comforting assurance that she–that we–can do this gives me a confidence I haven’t felt in a long, long time. We’ve got this, she and I, and together, we will conquer the invasive grass and assorted weeds that have been thriving in our climate-changed, rainy and warm winter and early spring.

And the accessories! OMG, those accessories, one that blows away the remnants of our rendezvous like a brisk breeze, another that trims up overgrown hedges in one-tenth of the time it would have taken me to prune them with our ancient, rusting hand clippers.

I can see it now. I will be one of *those* people, the ones who putter about their yards in the evenings and on weekends for the next five months. I used to mock them and their outdoor obsessions, but now I understand. For just a little while, we can forget our obligations and relieve our stress by creating some semblence of order in our normally chaotic lives. Time spent outdoors is our Qiqong mantra meditation, the roar of the power tools our oms. It is a promise of being one with ourselves in the backdrop of nature.

Perhaps the best part is waking up the day after these dates with our weed-whackers, coffee in hand, and looking out at the beauty we helped create just hours before, a nature painting that has been kissed by the morning dew.

In a few more hours, it will be late morning here and time to remove the fully-charged batter from the power-strip. I really don’t want to wait, but I also don’t want to be one of those annoying neighbors who interrupt a weekend sleep for others. I am not patient because of virtue; I am patient because I have experienced the sweet reward of our Black and Decker 18-Volt Cordless Electric Lawncare Center, and she is worth the wait.

What do you think?

Information

This entry was posted on April 7, 2012 by in Life, Lifestyle, nature, outdoors, Random, Uncategorized.

Top Posts & Pages

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers

Archives

Some call it “nifty”

The Big Five-OhAugust 24th, 2012
The big day is here.

Books To Nest By

Blog Stats

  • 2,518 hits
burchfamilyreunion.wordpress.com/

News about all things Burch

cwareintheworld

Post-Retirement Life

MOM-ME

The BEST it will ever be.....

Loving Dale

Chronicle of a Husband/Wife as Patient/Caregiver

pandrewmiller

Talk geek to me!

Lessons in French

Life is a journey that can often be as challenging and confusing as learning a foreign language. We all are longing for complete fluency and these are some of my lessons in conversing with life

St. Andrew's Episcopal Church - Ft. Thomas

Serving the people of Northern Kentucky and the Cincinnati Metro area since 1905

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Not Tomatoes

A writing journey to truth & light

The Daily Erasure

An Erasure Poem a Day...

The MediLodge Connection

A place for the MediLodge community to connect.

Beyond Halfway

Devoted to issues of well-being in the second half of life.

My Demented Mom

More than five million Americans suffer from Dementia. My mom was one of them. A site for young adult caregivers struggling and coping with "the long goodbye."

Across the Divide

Aging Issues and Navigating Eldercare from the inside of the Sandwich

Swapna writes...

A dementia caregiver in India shares experiences and insights about life

aidingaging

A practical approach to caregiving

myeyesopentheworld

God, Open My Eyes To The World

