Welcome to My Empty Nest

Musings from Mama Bird

Press Send

Last night, I had to discard my cell phone’s texts in order to free up room for more. This isn’t unusual, of course, but I always hesitate trashing text conversations, especially those with my children. They are the main reason my husband and I, several years ago, even bought cell phones and subscribed to unlimited text capabilities. Texting is the only way I can keep track of my baby birds, who thankfully oblige their worrying mama with occasional updates on their whereabouts. I need to know they’re safe and well, especially now since they’ve flown the coop.

My daughter and I trade barbs and inside jokes, and we occasionally share cute pictures of our pets. Whereas a text will randomly appear from my daughter, my son usually only initiates a text conversation when he needs something, so mostly I text him to make sure he’s okay.

I need to add that he’s an awesome young man, but busy. A jazz percussion major, he spends the majority of his weekdays either in class or practicing. He also leads a very busy social life, and I worry about his safety probably more than I should. All right, definitely more than I should. I don’t know if it’s because I majored in journalism in college or am a creative writer, but I have an extremely overactive imagination. You actually wouldn’t believe what goes through my head. All I know is that my mind can come up with some sort of tragic scenario quicker than I can ignite a burner on our gas stove.

A few Sunday afternoons ago, I sent my son the usual two o’clock text. I patiently waited for his response, but when one hadn’t arrived by three, I spiraled into panic mode. I paced. I prayed. I drank a beer. I called and called and called and reached his voicemail twenty-eight times (yeah, I know, pretty crazy, huh), then sent another text, all-caps: ARE YOU ALIVE??? Finally, the long-awaited Hey, Mama lit up my phone.

Yesterday evening, we were engaged in a text conversation about how I wanted him to spend the money he owes us on a camera for himself. (A few years ago, we bought him a nice one for his birthday, but I accidentally dropped it and dinged it up a little. He’s hardly used it since.) The last text he sent was, Thank you so much for doing that. That is so incredible of you. =) I love you, Mama. I typed, I love you too, Benny but I couldn’t send it because my phone’s memory had finally crapped out.

“Delete all of this conversation?” All 130 texts exchanged with my baby these past six days? No. I hated to erase words a Mama Bird longs to hear, but it was more important for me to respond.

Today is Sunday. It is early. It will be hours before I hear from my son, but I’ll wait. I’ll patiently wait. I always do.

One comment on “Press Send

  1. Pingback: Midnight Movie Tragedy « Welcome to the Empty Nest: Musings from Mama Bird

What do you think?

Information

This entry was posted on March 18, 2012 by in children, family, parenting, relationships.

Top Posts & Pages

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers

Archives

Some call it “nifty”

The Big Five-OhAugust 24th, 2012
The big day is here.

Books To Nest By

Blog Stats

  • 2,518 hits
burchfamilyreunion.wordpress.com/

News about all things Burch

cwareintheworld

Post-Retirement Life

MOM-ME

The BEST it will ever be.....

Loving Dale

Chronicle of a Husband/Wife as Patient/Caregiver

pandrewmiller

Talk geek to me!

Lessons in French

Life is a journey that can often be as challenging and confusing as learning a foreign language. We all are longing for complete fluency and these are some of my lessons in conversing with life

St. Andrew's Episcopal Church - Ft. Thomas

Serving the people of Northern Kentucky and the Cincinnati Metro area since 1905

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Not Tomatoes

A writing journey to truth & light

The Daily Erasure

An Erasure Poem a Day...

The MediLodge Connection

A place for the MediLodge community to connect.

Beyond Halfway

Devoted to issues of well-being in the second half of life.

My Demented Mom

More than five million Americans suffer from Dementia. My mom was one of them. A site for young adult caregivers struggling and coping with "the long goodbye."

Across the Divide

Aging Issues and Navigating Eldercare from the inside of the Sandwich

Swapna writes...

A dementia caregiver in India shares experiences and insights about life

aidingaging

A practical approach to caregiving

myeyesopentheworld

God, Open My Eyes To The World

